Indiana DUI and OWI Lawyers in South Bend Represent You in Court
Defending Hoosiers against charges of operating while intoxicated
An arrest for driving under the influence of alcohol can happen to most anyone. It is easy for someone’s blood alcohol content (BAC) to register above the legal limit after drinking only a small amount. However, the penalties can include jail time and even cost some people their careers or educational opportunities.
Griner & Company, Attorneys at Law provides criminal defense services to the people of Mishawaka and the surrounding areas. As former prosecutors, we’ve been involved in hundreds of cases and have extensive experience defending clients arrested for operating a vehicle while intoxicated (OWI).
Indiana’s OWI laws come with heavy penalties
Indiana refers to the charge of driving under the influence of alcohol as operating while intoxicated, or OWI. It doesn’t matter whether you were stopped on an interstate or a country road: The cost of an OWI conviction is steep. The penalties are based on prior convictions:
- First conviction — A first-time conviction for driving under the influence is considered a Class C misdemeanor and is punishable by 60 days in jail for a BAC level above .08 or up to a year in jail for a BAC level above .15. Fines can range up to $5,000, and you can have your license suspended for two years.
- Second conviction — A second conviction is considered a Class D felony with a minimum jail sentence of five days and a maximum of three years. Fines can range up to $10,000 with a license suspension of 180 days.
- Third conviction — A third conviction is a Class D felony with a minimum jail sentence of 10 days and as much as three years’ imprisonment. Fines can range up to $10,000, and your license must be suspended for one-year and can be suspended for as many as 10 years.
Other penalties for an OWI conviction include:
All OWI penalties can raise the costs of insurance and come with additional DMV fees. Speak to one of our OWI lawyers in Indiana to learn more about charges and penalties.
Indiana enhances OWI penalties based on certain criteria
Certain factors can make OWI sentences even harsher than those listed above. In Indiana, you face even more severe penalties if you’re charged with OWI under the following conditions:
- Operating a vehicle with a minor passenger — Someone whose BAC exceeds the legal limit, is over 21, and is stopped with a passenger under the age of 18 can be charged with a Class D felony.
- Causing serious bodily injury — A person who's BAC exceeds the legal limit or has ingested another controlled substance and causes serious bodily injury to another person while operating a vehicle can be charged with a Class D felony.
Younger drivers also face more severe OWI penalties. If you’re under 21 and have a blood alcohol level between .02 and .08, you can be charged with a Class C misdemeanor and have your license suspended for up to a year. Griner & Company, Attorneys at Law provides criminal defense services to anyone charged with an OWI or related crime. If you’ve been arrested, talk to us to learn more about your options.
Contact us for a free initial consultation if you’ve been charged with OWI in Indiana
Griner & Company, Attorneys at Law represents clients in Mishawaka and South Bend and throughout St. Joseph and Elkhart counties. As former prosecutors, we’ve handled countless OWI cases. Now representing drivers accused of OWI, we can help you avoid harsh penalties. Contact us at 574.213.5300 or online to schedule a free initial consultation.